Work

Working Again

So yesterday was a nice day off, despite my daughter crashing harder than a five year old who ran out of sugar. She did eventually wake up and I got another whole half an hour with her before she shot off to do whatever it is she does when she’s not working. She’s coming back tomorrow though so that’ll be nice. 

Tonight though, I’m working again. This time it’s a football match (I won’t say where or who until tomorrow because, y’know, security). The away club has a reputation for being a little bit batshit. And by little bit I mean that they’re known for getting into scraps in the stands, in the halls, in the toilets, in the car parks and anywhere else they can find. 

I’m not looking forward to it. 

To give you some idea of how bad a reputation these guys have, we have to be at the stadium three hours before kick off to secure everything and make sure there’s nothing even remotely resembling a weapon available to them (although I’ve heard stories about them ripping the backs off of the bolted down chairs to use in the past when nothing else was available). 

I just hope I don’t get put on the seg line when the match is over. 

The seg line, or segregation line, for anyone who doesn’t know, is the huge line of stewards and police outside the stadium that kind of funnels the away fans towards their coaches and keeps them separated from the home fans to try and stop fighting. It doesn’t always work and sometimes stewards get clobbered while still trying to get the fans away safely. 

I’m crossing everything it’s not as bad as I’m sure it will be. 

For now I need to get changed and get my gear together for it so I’ll leave it here and update tomorrow with how bad, or good, it was. 

*crosses everything and chants*

Please be good, please be good, please be good…

Leave a Reply

