Writing

Camp NaNoWriMo


Tonight I’m working again (crazy I know, I don’t usually work this many shifts but money calls and all that) so that should be fun. I’m not writing about work today though, I’m writing about Camp NaNoWriMo. 

NaNoWriMo, for those who don’t know, is National Novel Writing Month and there’s two events each year. There’s the main one in November and then there’s Camp NaNoWriMo in April. 

The idea for November is that you get 50,000 original words out onto the page without thought for how good they are and then spend the time after November editing and revising and polishing everything so that by the time you’re done, you have a finished novel. You can write more if you want, or even less, but 50,000 is the golden line that everyone tries to cross when they do it. It’s one of the hardest things I’ve ever done but I love it!

The event in April is the same sort of thing but you can set a goal that’s more or less than that and work on things that aren’t original. The other difference between the April event and the November one is that you can join virtual cabins and have bunk mates who will cheer you on, commiserate with you and join in the panic as the deadline approaches. 

Both events are a lot of fun and I’ve made lots of friends through doing it (did I mention that digital friendships are easier for me than face to face ones? Thanks anxiety!) and I’ve ended up with lots of story ideas that are sat quietly on my hard drive waiting for me to get around to them. 

That’s the problem you see. I have all these fantastic ideas and I explain them to people who beg me to write them but then I procrastinate over them. NaNoWriMo doesn’t allow me to do that because I feel too accountable to my friends to not do it. 

That’s why I’ve signed up for Camp NaNoWriMo and will power through a month of madness, mayhem and coffee. 

I hope anyone who reads this will think about joining me!

In the meantime, I have to get ready for work so I’ll write again tomorrow 😊

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

