daughter · Writing

Interruptions Abound

I honestly think I’m going to go slightly batty. I’m trying to write and edit a story I’ve been working on for a while and it’s not going very well. When my daughter isn’t here, I can easily churcn out 5k a day in words if I need to and I can enjoy myself when doing it. Unfortunately, when she’s here, I barely manage past 500 for the entire day. You can guess how well that works for me when I’m running to a deadline.

I wouldn’t mind too much if people weren’t counting on me meeting that deadline but they are and I am.

Still, I’ve managed a respectable 2k today despite being constantly interrupted, having her borrow my laptop for ‘just one second, mum!’ and then being dragged into conversations about whether she should buy the blue shoes, the black ones, or the ones with batwings.

I love my daughter to bits but the last couple of days she’s driven me nuts and if she weren’t already 18, I’d consider selling her on eBay. I wouldn’t really, but you know what I mean.

With any luck I’ll be able to pump out another 2k words today and get somewhere near back on track. If I don’t I’m going to have a very bad time because I still need to prepare for Camp NaNoWriMo and I’m having a hard time imagining even being close to prepared. I’m going to be running from one deadline, to the Camp NaNo deadline with no break in between writing. Ugh, sucks to be me.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

